2013 Race Schedule

Well, I am VERY happy to say I have already mapped out my year and planned most of my big races.  I didn’t do this last year and before I could even say 2012, the year had flown by.  If there is one thing I’ve learned, its to stop saying, “Oh, I’ll do that next year” because it really ends up being years.

I’m most excited about my next event coming up in March.  Mostly because its more about exposing newbie runners/racers to my most favorite thing.  I have been talking at work now for quite some time about wanting to do a color run.  While I enjoy the longer races to challenge myself for endurance, I also enjoy the shorter 5k races IF they have some sort of fun element to them, such as mud, color, or foam 🙂  I am by no means a fan of the 5k’s if it is just all about the speed.  I have said many times that I’m an endurance runner, not a sprinter.  So, I finally found a color run coming close-ish to me in March.  I mentioned it to my 10-year-old daughter (who has done some fun 1 mile runs, but nothing longer) and her face lit up the room.  She thought it would be a great mommy/daughter thing to do together.  And then much to my surprise and elation, someone at work said she would like to do it with us and bring her daughter, too.  So, we have formed a team!!! Neither one of them has ever done anything like this.  I’m so inspired by their willingness to come out of their comfort zone and give it a try.  This team is something that warms me from the inside out.  I just loving running so much and showing others how great it is, that’s what it’s all about.  To check out the color run, check out their website here

Then in April I’m doing the Diva’s Half Marathon at Myrtle Beach.  I’m very excited about this one and am already planning my outfit.  I definitely want to wear my bright pink compression socks and a tutu!  It looks like a lot of fun and a great excuse to try out our new camping equipment and camp at the beach!

The next one is the one I’m most excited scared about.  It is my first ever sprint triathlon in September.  It has been on my fitness bucket list for quite some time and I finally decided it was time to commit.  I have no bike and need to learn how to properly swim first!  I plan on taking swimming lessons sometime in early summer and go to a specialty bike shop to get some expert help there.  I chose this race because it is all women and the swim is not an open water swim.  Sometimes I’m a bit intimidated by the super-duper competitive man and I know I’m intimidated by open water swimming, so I just took care of both those worries with this race.  I’ve got  a training schedule in place and plan on starting it in July.

Then in October I’m doing the Myrtle Beach mini marathon I did this race in 2011 and really enjoyed it.  There was a good bit of crowd cheering towards the end and I’ve heard they have improved the course by adding more beachfront running.  I love my medal from the 2011 race, too.  The only thing I have a beef with is them calling it a mini marathon.  Whats so mini about 13.1 miles??

I don’t see another marathon in my future anytime soon.  The training just takes up too much of my time.  And now that I’m working full-time, spending time with my family is just that much more precious.

Is there anyone out there doing any of these races?  I would love to meet up!!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

My Skinny Sweet Tooth

Simple, Sweet & Savory Recipes That Feed My Inner Weight Watcher

a photogenic world

The blog of Paul Williams Photography

Rockin' Fit Noms

Eat. Sweat. Dance. Laugh.

Adey's 80

A blog dedicated to maintaining an 80/20 Paleo lifestyle

Jenn's Whole 30 Journey

a whole 30 food journal... and maybe a bit of rantiness...

DoomBuggy Runner

A running blog of an avid Disney fan!

From Florida to North Dakota

Living a Fun Filled Life Fueled by Healthy Living

Take Back Fitness

weight loss | lose weight | financial freedom | workout dvd | insanity workout | turbofire | better weight loss methods | shrink belly fat | burn calories | get out of debt | les mills | p90x | beachbody | work from home | SAHM | results | clean eating | lose weight healthy | legit work from home | success from home

RunStylish

a busy momma's life and style on the run

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

mythineats

Who says you can't eat and be thin too

Fitness

This site does not provide medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Use of this site is subject to our terms of service and privacy policy. All material provided on this website is provided for informational or educational purposes only. Consult a physician regarding the applicability of any opinions or recommendations with respect to your symptoms or medical condition.

Shelly's deli Blog

Living a healthy lifestyle

