Whole 30 day 23

Today went well.  So well in fact, I totally forgot what day I was on when someone asked me!  I think that’s a really great sign that I’m IN IT, if ya know what I mean.  I’m not counting down the days, wishing it were over.  I’m living it.  I’m sitting here writing this post as I eat a very delicious meal of grilled chicken, roasted asparagus, and this seriously good peach salsa.  For lunch I had rotisserie chicken, roasted sweet potato brussel sprouts.  Breakfast was boiled eggs and avocado.

I feel like I’m losing weight.  I’m starting to feel like my old, healthy, stronger self.  It feels good.  My clothes are looser and fit better and the weight I lift at the gym is slowly increasing.  And I came to a realization the other day.  I did this all without counting a single calorie, Weight Watcher point, or portion size.  Yes, it’s been stressful trying to figure out what a meal should look like.  But I feel like I’m getting the hang of it, and it’s slowly getting easier.  While I’m cooking dinner, I’m also thinking about breakfast and cooking, roasting, grilling, it all at once.  But how nice is it, to be able to eat what you cook until you’re full???  And not have to worry about how much?  And still lose weight (hopefully!!! Since I haven’t technically weighed myself yet).  I think I really like this way of eating and am starting to embrace it.  I know I won’t be 100% Whole 30/paleo everyday, but certainly would like to aim for 80/20.  I am starting to get a little nervous about what I’ll do on day 31 and beyond, but if I get too out of control, I can always do another 30 days.

I did discover one AWFUL thing today at the grocery store.  I sometimes eat a handful of almonds or cashews when I get home if I’m starving before dinner.  I ran out, so I was going to buy some more and happened to look at the ingredients just to be sure.  Guess what is in those mother freaking nuts??  SUGAR!!!! Really???!!!!  Is nothing sacred???  I don’t consider that cheating since I had no freaking clue, but I do take responsibility for not looking at the label.  Luckily I found another brand that just had almonds and salt.  Imagine that??  So, use this as a lesson to read your labels.  If you’re about to give in to a craving, maybe reading all those nasty extra ingredients will change your mind.

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “Whole 30 day 23

  1. Anonymous July 3, 2013 at 3:09 pm Reply

    Shelly, I’m really enjoying your posts and interesting information about different foods and recipes, and your interest in eating and cooking unprocessed foods. Because of various physical limitations I’m not able to do much cooking, but I try to pay attention to buying and eating locally grown organic foods. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

My Skinny Sweet Tooth

Sweet & Savory Recipes That Feed My Inner Weight Watcher

a photogenic world

The blog of Paul Williams Photography

Rockin' Fit Noms

Eat. Sweat. Dance. Laugh.

Adey's 80

A blog dedicated to maintaining an 80/20 Paleo lifestyle

Jenn's Whole 30 Journey

a whole 30 food journal... and maybe a bit of rantiness...

DoomBuggy Runner

A running blog of an avid Disney fan!

From Florida to North Dakota

Living a Fun Filled Life Fueled by Healthy Living

Take Back Fitness

weight loss | lose weight | financial freedom | workout dvd | insanity workout | turbofire | better weight loss methods | shrink belly fat | burn calories | get out of debt | les mills | p90x | beachbody | work from home | SAHM | results | clean eating | lose weight healthy | legit work from home | success from home

RunStylish

a busy momma's life and style on the run

Run Cardiff Run

Exploring Cardiff's running community

mythineats

Who says you can't eat and be thin too

Fitness

This site does not provide medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Use of this site is subject to our terms of service and privacy policy. All material provided on this website is provided for informational or educational purposes only. Consult a physician regarding the applicability of any opinions or recommendations with respect to your symptoms or medical condition.

Shelly's deli Blog

Living a healthy lifestyle

